2023 Halloween Marathon: Week 8 Reviews

Check out the full schedule for our horror movie marathon here.

*Silent Madness (1984) – 4/10 – This was so close to being OK, and it has a lot of things that the “classics” have, but it ultimately falls a little short. It’s definitely a fun slasher at times. And I loved the computer stuff in the beginning. But it’s just too slow and doesn’t have enough in between the slow parts to really be memorable. And I don’t know if we just know so much about slashers now, but the ending was clear from pretty early on. Yet apparently it was supposed to be a twist, and I had no idea. I assumed we’d basically been told about the “twist,” but I guess back then, if it wasn’t completely spelled out, the audience could be tricked.

The Craft (1996) – 8/10 – Another one that I haven’t seen in a while, and it was a lot of fun. The soundtrack makes me want to go to a 9, honestly. Let’s call this an 8.5.

Demons 2 (1986) – 5/10 – This was the first film in Joe Bob’s Helloween special, which was a lot of fun, as expected. Maybe the best Halloween episode since 2019. But the demons here are really just zombies, guys. Still, similar to The Craft, we HAVE to add points for the soundtrack. This is more like a 3.5 for me, until you factor in the killer tracks by The Smiths, The Cult, Love and Rockets, and others. Up next was…

All Hallows’ Eve (2013) – 2/10 – I’m sorry. I know it’s SO uncool for me to say this in 2023… but I just don’t get Art the Clown. Darcy and Joe Bob (and everyone else) are ready to call him an icon, and I just don’t care. People aren’t really scared of clowns. They’re scared of psychos who happen to be dressed as clowns. And Art just bores me. I could go 3 or 4 out of 10 for the Terrifier movies, but the middle segment in this film is beyond boring.

* = first watch

Note: The final films for our TBA weekend will be The Exorcist: Believer (2023) and When Evil Lurks (2023).

Leave a comment