2023 Halloween Marathon: Week 7 Reviews

Check out the full schedule for our horror movie marathon here.

Friday the 13th Part 2 (1981), Part VI (1986) – 10/10 – It was a busy weekend with House of Usher and everything else we wanted to watch, so I just went with two favorites on Friday the 13th.

*The Fall of the House of Usher (2023) – 9/10 – This was nearly perfect. I had no idea where Flanagan was going to go with it, and while a lot had to be added to the story of course, almost everything comes from Poe’s work. I’d read a lot of the stories within the last 5-10 years, but there are some that I haven’t read in a long time. Still, because I’m so familiar with a lot of it, I could start to predict some of the story, and that was when it was most fun. But I feel like I need to read it all again to be able to fully appreciate the series. That being said, I think the show would still be pretty great if you’d never read a word of Poe.

Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948) – 9/10 – Svengoolie’s first film this weekend. This is in my top five Universal monster films.

*Totally Killer (2023) – 9/10 – I was ready for a letdown after seeing so many people talk about this one the last couple of weeks, but they were all right. It’s great. I think they missed a few ’80s jokes (but nailed a bunch) and probably missed a few things to add to the time travel aspect, although I think they were aware of a thin margin between inspiration and just straight up ripping off Back to the Future. I loved it, and I hope there’s a sequel.

*The Wrath of Becky (2023) – 8/10 – This was also a lot of fun. I liked the first one (probably a 7/10), and this sequel just ramps it up. Apparently they’re planning a third one now, and I can’t wait. I would take Becky against John Wick and all of the Expendables put together.

*Final Summer (2023) – 8/10 – Guys, they did it! We have to sit through so many of these ’80s/’90s “throwbacks” just to find one that is worth watching. And this is the one. This looks good, it sounds good, the acting is fine, and it has original music (both score and soundtrack) that doesn’t sound like garbage. Movies like this one make it seem like it shouldn’t be so hard, but for some reason, everyone always messes it up. Here we get a simple legend, a remote location, and filmmakers who get the absolute best production quality for their budget. There are great references to the time period without being overbearing (yes, PLEASE do not play “More Than Words” on that guitar!), yet it’s also timeless and evergreen enough that it doesn’t matter when the story is taking place, which is how it should be.

*They Wait in the Dark (2022) – 8/10 – Director Patrick Rea and I go back to my horror podcast days, and I love all of his films. He manages to do a lot with small budgets and always brings something unique to the table. This one is a slow monster revenge story that utilizes some pretty good acting while constantly building suspense. Ultimately it peaks with the kind of dark horror that Patrick delivers every time, but it has a little fun along the way too.

*Never Hike Alone 2 (2023) – 7/10 – These guys do crowdfunded Friday the 13th fan films that are completely free to stream, and they do a really good job. The production and cinematography are better than a lot of ’80s slashers that we love.

*Suburban Screams, “Kelly” (2023) – 5/10 – I was really excited about John Carpenter’s return, but this was kind of disappointing. It’s a lot like Unsolved Mysteries, but more on the horror side of course. There are times where the Carpenter music really stands out, but overall it’s nothing special. I’ll likely still watch the other episodes, and it looks like I may enjoy some of the other stories more.

* = first watch

Leave a comment