2023 Halloween Marathon: Week 9 Reviews

Check out the full schedule for our horror movie marathon here.

*The Exorcist: Believer (2023) – 5/10 – This was better than I ever could’ve expected it to be. I think the story is good, and I liked the thought process of just having a bunch of random people around to help and see what works. That’s probably the best way to do it. I also liked the idea of making people choose who survives. Maybe I’m not the smartest about this stuff, but if the demon was literally just playing a sick game with them the whole time, that at least seems like a purpose or a motive to me. Will I watch this again? I don’t know. Will I watch the inevitable sequel? Definitely.

*When Evil Lurks (2023) – 7/10 – This was crazy. I don’t know if a second viewing would increase or decrease my rating, but I’m leaning toward increase. There is a lot to unpack as you try to decide if this is more like a zombie situation or a virus outbreak or what. The characters are constantly put in situations that make The Mist’s ending almost seem normal, which is saying a lot. This was another one that had been building up a buzz over the last few months and thankfully managed to live up to it.

*Five Nights at Freddy’s (2023) – 5/10 – This was fine. It’s probably perfect for its intended audience. As someone who admittedly knows very little about the game (I played it a few times with the kids when it was new), I didn’t feel like it was tied to the source nearly enough, and I don’t think I’m alone in that. I also really thought I’d see more about things like pizza and video games and tickets and prizes. I don’t know. That’s the stuff I think of when I think about Showbiz and Chuck E. Cheese. There was a lot of room for fun stuff like that, and maybe they’ll add more of those little things in the (once again) inevitable sequel. Make it fun.

* = first watch

Thanks to everyone who followed along and especially to those who suggested films this year!

Leave a comment