2023 Halloween Marathon: Week 6 Reviews

Check out the full schedule for our horror movie marathon here.

The Gate (1987) – 8/10 – When I was a kid, I used to look for “gates” in random parks and stuff around my town. I even had a little bible in my backpack, just in case I needed it to close a gate. Now, however, I just want a Sacrifyx record.

*V/H/S/85 (2023) – 3/10 – I have not liked any of the VHS films, but I gave this one a shot because one of the segments is directed by Scott Derrickson, who did Sinister and Black Phone. The frame story here is not very good, and I didn’t enjoy the second and third shorts at all. However, the first and fourth segments (related shorts, both directed by Mike P. Nelson) are actually pretty good. Then Derrickson’s, saved for last, is OK as well. Additionally, the commercials and stuff are pretty fun, although the WNUF Halloween Special did it better. The thing that confused me the most about the format is that we’re supposed to believe all of these things were filmed on the same cassette. I don’t get how that’s possible in any world. Other problems: this isn’t completely “found footage,” not everyone had video cameras at home in 1985, and when they did, they definitely sound anything like this.

*Haunted Mansion (2023) – 8/10 – This was as good as we could hope for, I think, and I like it a lot more than the Eddie Murphy movie. Having it take place in New Orleans bumps it up a bit for me, of course. But I also have to say, it’s just toooooo long. We have pitch clocks in baseball, and Disney is making movies longer than two hours? Also, I’d love a legitimate horror version of this. Or maybe that’s just 13 Ghosts.

*Ouija Witch (2023) – 2/10 – Every now and then I relive my horror podcast days and do this to myself. I made it through this thing (while working on some other stuff), so I’ll give it a 2. But I’m gonna waste time here writing about it. Just know you shouldn’t watch it or anything.

* = first watch

Leave a comment