2021 Halloween Marathon: Week 7 Reviews

Be sure to check out the full schedule here.

Halloween Kills (2021) – 10/10 – Once again, they gave us exactly what we wanted, a perfect slasher with a bunch of characters from the original film. Only this time, they didn’t even have to kill Michael since we already know the next movie is coming next year. If you see bad reviews for this movie, don’t trust them without seeing it for yourself. If your friends are saying bad things about it, unfriend them. They’re dumb.

Haunt (2018) – 8/10 – I don’t go to these haunted attractions because I’d rather spend a fraction of the money to watch movies instead. I definitely wouldn’t sign a waiver to enter one, nor would I allow them to lock up my cell phone. Therefore, knowing that people do actually do these things, I like this movie a lot because I know I’d never be one of these idiots getting trapped in this place.

House (1985) – 5/10 – I liked this one a lot as a kid, but it definitely doesn’t hold up for me. The effects are great. That’s about it. Another example of a horror comedy without enough horror or comedy.

I Know What You Did Last Summer (1997) – 7/10 – As a person who kinda believes that we probably peaked as humans sometime around 1997, I don’t know if this film quite holds up the way I thought/hoped it would. I want to make a list of reasons why this could never be set in 2021, but I don’t really have the energy. Instead, I’ll try to check out the first episode of the new TV series and assume that the producers made the list themselves, prompting this updated version.

Chucky, Episode 1 – 4/10 – I’ve actually never been the biggest Child’s Play fan. I think the franchise is generally better than Leprechaun, for example, but nowhere near the upper tier of Halloween and Friday the 13th. Still, I thought this could have potential and ended up being mostly disappointed. If it happens to get decent reviews from people I trust, maybe I’ll try watching the whole season later.

Leave a comment