2021 Halloween Horror Marathon

As we start to prepare for the third season of our Christmas podcast, we’ll also be doing a fun Halloween celebration this year! Beginning this weekend, we’ll be watching and discussing horror movies through Halloween. We have two movies picked for each weekend (plus a full Halloween series marathon to kick off October) and will watch a bunch of other stuff in between.

I’ll post my quick review for each film that we watch in weekly posts, starting at the end of this post for Week 1, and I’ll also be around on Facebook and Twitter if anyone wants to discuss any of the movies. We could even do a live chat one night or a live screening, like we did with our holiday marathon last year, if anyone is interested.

A lot of the films we’ve picked will be available on the Shudder streaming service. If you’re a horror fan and aren’t a regular subscriber, I’d recommend adding it, at least for October.

Here is the planned schedule. Scroll down below for ratings and comments!

September 3-5: Poltergeist (1982), Don’t Breathe 2 (2021)

September 10-12: Carrie (1976), Martyrs Lane (2021)

September 17-19: Happy Birthday to Me (1981), The House of the Devil (2009)

September 24-26: Trick ‘r Treat (2007), Scary Stories To Tell in the Dark (2019)

October 1-3: Halloween complete series marathon (all films from 1978-2018!)

October 8-10: Joe Bob’s Halloween Hoedown (Double Feature TBA – Shudder live event)

October 15-17: Halloween Kills (2021), Haunt (2019)

October 22-24: Friday the 13th Part 3 (1982), Nightmare on Elm Street Part 3 (1987)

October 29-31: Dark Night of the Scarecrow (1981), Sleepy Hollow (1999)


Week 1 Reviews

Poltergeist (1982) – 9/10 – This is the first time we really noticed the weird cut scene, where they’re in the middle of a sentence in the kitchen and are then suddenly knocking on a neighbor’s door. It’s bizarre. Plus, don’t take a bath in the haunted house you’re about to leave. (That may actually even be a film title from the early ’80s.)

Don’t Breathe 2 (2021) – 7/10 – If you liked the first one, you’ll probably dig this. It looks pretty good, especially the scenes in the house, but the story is kind of out there. At this point, I think I’d like it more if the guy could see, although I realize that’d make it similar to countless other movies. This was fun enough.

Sometimes They Come Back (1991) – 8/10 – I forgot how much I liked this one. As much as I love Stephen King, the movies can be hit or miss, but Tom McLouhglin made a good one here. I also forgot about the weird roaring sounds throughout the film. What is that? (I think I’m going to watch the two sequels now. I don’t think I’ve seen either of them, and they both look terrible!)

Leave a comment