2021 Halloween Marathon: Week 6 Reviews

We’re getting close to Halloween now! Only a few weeks left. Be sure to check out the full schedule here.

This weekend we celebrated the Last Drive-In’s Halloween Hoedown on Shudder. It was a six-hour blast of Halloween fun and included appearances by Jason Blum and David Gordon Green, who discussed the Halloween series and the upcoming Halloween Kills. And of course, there were two movies…

Angel (1983) – 6/10 – I’d been interested in this one, mainly because of the great cast, but I’d never watched it. I was glad to finally have an excuse to sit down and check it out, even if it isn’t a Halloween movie at all and may not have been the best choice for this event. I loved the crazy fight scene toward the end, which kind of came out of nowhere. It was pretty well done, but it was also hilarious. Also, I liked getting a look at L.A. here, since most films like this tend to be set in New York.

Terror Train (1980) – 9/10 – This is one of my favorite slashers and was a great film for this event, even if it also isn’t a Halloween film. If you haven’t seen this one, just know it features David Copperfield and has a pretty crazy twist at the end. I personally think they should’ve done the whole Jamie Lee Curtis 1980 trio, adding The Fog and Prom Night.

Other movies we’ve watched this week…

Muppet Haunted Mansion (2021) – 9/10 – To be clear, I am probably the least qualified person to discuss or review anything Muppet related, aside from maybe Christmas Carol. I was a fan growing up, but I’m not the expert today that many of my friends are. That being said, Haunted Mansion is my favorite Disney ride, I loved this special, and I was so happy to learn it had nothing to do with the Eddie Murphy movie. I’ll definitely watch it again. I know I missed so much the first time, and it’ll probably take several viewings to really take it in.

Witchboard (1986) – 9/10 – This used to be a favorite of mine, but it’s been a long time since I’ve watched it. I was happy to find that it totally holds up today. The storytelling is pretty good, and there are actual attempts at character development without straying too far from the horror. It’s a legitimately creepy film that separates itself from most other mid-80s stuff.

Leave a comment