2023 Halloween Marathon: Week 2 Reviews

Check out the full schedule for our horror movie marathon here.

*Flesh for Frankenstein (1973) – 5/10 – This is wacky, but it could’ve been worse. I liked the castle and the atmosphere (the bats were really cool), and the final scene is pretty great.

*Blood for Dracula (1974) – 3/10 – OK, this one is not very good, and it’s longer. Flesh for Frankenstein at least has something of a plot to work with. This one is really just Dracula trying to marry one of four sisters for an entire movie. Also, while Frankenstein’s movie is set in his castle, here we see Dracula leave Transylvania, and the whole film takes place in an Italian house that is supposedly falling apart. Ultimately, it’s hard to tell which character is the biggest idiot, and I think the answer is that they’re all tied for first place.

Night of the Demons (1988) – 5/10 – This was screened in a surprise Last Drive-In special on Shudder (Live From the Jamboree) this weekend, and the special itself was definitely a 10/10. However, no matter how many times I watch this movie, I just can’t fully get into it. It’s obviously fun at times, and the music cracks me up. But some people consider it to be a classic, and I don’t think I’ll ever get there.

*Cobweb (2023) – 4/10 – I was looking forward to this one, and it was a letdown. Reviews are comparing it to Goosebumps, which is fine with me, but I hate movies with terrible parents, and no one prepared me for that. Surprisingly, I thought the final act was the best part by far, while reviews are saying the ending is weak. I really liked the music and all the Halloween spirit, but I feel like it was all wasted here. This is the worst I’ve ever seen from both Lizzy Caplan and Anthony Starr.

*The War of the Gargantuas (1966) – 4/10 – Svengoolie’s weekly movie. This is hilarious, and the gargantuas are like a combination of ewoks, the baby Grinch from the Jim Carrey movie, and the Jolly Green Giant. Brown is good, green is bad, and the overdubs are awful. Definitely worth watching once, especially with Svengoolie.

House of Dracula (1945) – 7/10 – I like this one and go to it often for a number of reasons. First, it’s under 70 minutes. Also, it’s very “doctor-y,” and I love when they really dig into the funny science in these things. But most importantly, you get multiple monsters at once, including (eventually) Frankenstein, who is my favorite. Perfect for football pre-game.

* = first watch

Leave a comment