2023 Halloween Marathon: Week 1 Reviews

Check out the full schedule for our horror movie marathon here.

*The Haunting of Julia (1977) – 4/10 – There weren’t a whole lot of ghosts in this ghost movie. And there weren’t enough creepy kids for it to be an effective creepy kid movie. I don’t know how they got Mia Farrow, but she couldn’t really save it.

*A Ghost Story (2017) – 5/10 – As I said on a recent bonus episode, I realized too late that this one isn’t a horror film. Even worse, it’s a total bummer. It’s a fine movie if you’re trying to have an emo Halloween. If you’re here for fun, skip this one!

*The Last Voyage of the Demeter (2023) – 6/10 – I guess this is about what I expected. It looks fine and was OK to watch once, but I don’t know that I’d ever want to revisit it. We had some complaints about the story and mainly that Dracula is only a creature here, although his human form would’ve worked at different points along the way. If they’re setting this up for a franchise, I’d likely watch the sequels.

Frankenstein (1931) – 9/10 – This was the weekly Svengoolie movie.

*The Boogeyman (2023) – 5/10 – This really should’ve been better, but I guess I’ll take what I can get with a film that tries to turn a Stephen King story into The Babadook. My main concern is that these movie psychiatrists always have home offices, constantly putting their families at risk. Maybe it’s not such a good idea, guys.

*Lovers Lane (1999) – 2/10 – The Hook Killer is one of my favorite urban legends, and I was cautiously optimistic when I discovered this recently. But yeah, it’s bad ’90s horror at its best/worst. The people making these awful ’90s movies knew about Scream, right? Or even I Know What You Did Last Summer or Urban Legends? This one is more like those terrible Cruel Intentions sequels, and it makes Jack Frost look like Carpenter’s Halloween. You should get a prize if you make it to the end. (Note: At least one of the actresses was actually in Cruel Intentions 2. She was also in Devil in the Flesh 2. That’s what we’re dealing with here.)

*Pin (1988) – 7/10 – Maybe I liked this more because Lovers Lane was so bad. It’s not a great movie; some of the acting could certainly be better, and the music is a distraction. But it’s fun and kinda creepy. I was expecting bowling horror and got ventriloquism instead. If you liked Terry O’Quinn in The Stepfather, his character here is very similar. And we’ll see David Hewlett again soon in Cube.

* = first watch

Leave a comment