2022 Halloween Marathon: Week 1 Reviews

Here are some quick reviews from this week’s movies. Check out the full schedule here.

Psycho (1960) – 10/10 – According to this online inflation calculator that I just used, the $40,000 that Marion stole would be $400,000 today. Also, I like that she does the math to discover that $40,000 minus $700 means that she’ll have to pay back $700.

Psycho II (1983) – 8/10 – Such a great sequel. And the diner has it all: good food, great arcade games, and Norman Bates chopping the lettuce.

Psycho III (1986) – 4/10 – Definitely the low point of the franchise (assuming we never mention the 1987 Bates Motel TV movie/pilot, which we won’t). It’s still not completely terrible, and it adds some good bits to the Psycho story.

Psycho IV (1990) – 8/10 – I love a good prequel, so add in Henry Thomas and Olivia Hussey, two of my favorite actors, and I’m in. As someone who listened to a lot of talk radio in the ’80s and ’90s, I really like that aspect of the plot as well. You can see a lot of the Bates Motel TV series’ origins here, which is a lot of fun.

Day Shift (2022) – 6/10 – More action than horror, but it’s fun at times. I found myself wishing it’d taken a little more inspiration from I Am Legend, and then I realized that I could just watch (or read) I Am Legend.

Leave a comment