2021 Halloween Marathon: Final Reviews

We’ve finally reached the end! If you’re just checking in for the Christmas content and are interested in the horror movies we’ve been watching over the last couple of months, be sure to check out the full schedule here.

Sleepy Hollow (1999) – 7/10 – If I remove this film from the story that I love so much, I think it’s fine, and it certainly looks great. I also like the slight nods to the original text and even the Disney cartoon. That being said, I don’t like most of the changes, and I think it certainly could’ve been as effective with a more faithful adaptation. I also wish they had found a way to film it in or near Sleepy Hollow. Still, it’s fine to watch every few years.

Dark Night of the Scarecrow (1981) – 8/10 – This is easily the best made-for-TV horror movie ever. I’m kind of surprised that we haven’t seen a big studio come in and remake this one. It does look like there’s an indie sequel, or maybe it’s in production. But I’d love to see an update of this one, similar to what they did with the great My Bloody Valentine remake.

Thanks to everyone who has been following along! Today we’ll be watching Charlie Brown, Garfield, and a bunch more before heading out to trick or treat. But then we’ll be launching the first new episode of our Christmas podcast! See you soon…

Leave a comment