2021 Halloween Marathon: Week 3 Reviews

Here are some quick reviews from this week’s movies. Check out the full schedule here.

The House of the Devil (2009) – 7/10 – This one has become an annual fall watch for me, even if it’s not a perfect film. I like the acting, the setting, and the music here, and while “devil” movies just aren’t really my thing, this is one of the best recent attempts.

Happy Birthday to Me (1981) – 8/10 – This is a classic slasher that all horror fans should see. The twist at the end is insane, and the running time is way too long, but it’s a fun movie. I think this is the first time that I realized that these kids are in high school. I always assumed it was college, with all the drinking and some of the actors clearly being in their mid-20s. But as we know, 1981 was a different time, and high school kids could apparently openly drink at the local tavern and jump bridges in their cars.

Candyman (2021) – 3/10 – This wasn’t a lot of fun for me. It looks and sounds fine, but the story is an absolute mess. I would need an hour-long podcast to explain all my issues with the writing. Just watch the original.

Leave a comment