2022 Halloween Marathon: Week 9 Reviews

Here are some quick reviews from the final movies. Thanks to everyone who followed along! Check out the full schedule here.

He Knows You’re Alone (1980) – 8/10 – This one is mostly known for one of its supporting actors named Tom Hanks, and I hadn’t seen it since the days of our scary movie marathons more than 20 years ago. So I didn’t know what to expect. It starts out OK, with a Scream-like film inside of a film, a pretty good kill, and the Breakfast Club principal, and it picks up from there. Tom Hanks’s part is pretty small, just a couple of scenes, but he’s really good, obviously. Heading into the third act, I was already thinking it was a 7/10, but a great kill and a perfect ending bumped it up even higher. If you like slashers, especially early ’80s slashers, and somehow haven’t seen this, definitely check it out.

The Monster Squad (1987) – 10/10 – I don’t really know what I hoped to accomplish by signing myself up to post a short review of what I consider a perfect film, but there’s not really much to say here. Not only does it still hold up, but if we’re remaking and rebooting all of these horror films, this one should be at the top of someone’s list. In fact, let’s get a whole Netflix series going. I’d love to live in a society where the Universal Monsters are once again as popular (and as widely marketed) as Stranger Things. I won’t rest until I can buy a Dracula-themed frozen pizza from Walmart, OK?

Well, after two months, we’ve reached the end of our marathon! Halloween will be over in another hour or so, and our first bonus episode of the holiday season will be available in the morning. And related to this marathon, we’ll be discussing Anna and the Apocalypse on our first full episode this weekend.

Leave a comment